National Council Members

President and councillor

Mark Irwin, representing South Australiamark irwin

Since 1994 Dr. Mark Irwin has held various leadership positions within the stuttering self-help movement at both a national and international level. These include serving as current President of the Australian Speak Easy Association and Chairman of the International Fluency Association’s Self –Help and Consumer Affairs Committee.  From 2001 to 2007 he was Board Chairman of International Stuttering Association (ISA), the umbrella organisation for national and international self-help and support groups from throughout the world. He has given numerous presentations including at the inaugural African Conference as well as stuttering conferences of the ISA, International Fluency Association, British Stammering Association and National Stuttering Association of America. He has also contributed articles to the annual international stuttering online conference as well as to books, magazines and newsletters of various professional bodies.

While an advocate for the therapeutic value of self-help groups, Dr. Irwin is also acutely aware of the need for both people who stutter AND speech language professionals to have stuttering research data distilled, integrated and disseminated. He has taken an active role in that process as manager of “International Speech Project –Stuttering”, manager of CD Rom Project, and as an Advisory Board member of the International Stuttering Association. He also produced the film documentary “More Than Words.” His major interest is in the clarification of stuttering terminology and the development of diagnostic labels in order to bring attention to the potential impact of social anxiety disorder (social phobia) on the lives of people who stutter. He is the author of the blog

Dr. Irwin is managing partner of a large private dental practice in Adelaide, South Australia. He has held various committee positions for his branch of the Australian Dental Association and has completed further study in dental anxiety management. He is the proud father of 3 adult children and lives with partner Isobel. An avid reader of history and psychology he describes himself as a keen runner, a hopeful golfer, and a man with too much life experience not to be an enthusiastic advocate for the empowerment process.

Vice President and councillor

Geoff Martin, representing WA                                                                


I  have been a covert stutterer most of my  adult life from age 4.

In 2001 after many disappointments I  joined the Mcguire program in 2001 at age 56. With much personal determination i  overcame my  fears and after 14 years  i am  now predominately stutter free. I  have  determined a large percentage of stuttering comes from social anxiety and lack of personal confidence so i see my involvement with the Australian stuttering Committee a progression in my journey of helping PWS . This committee has a number of professional people   who combined with my  personal experience  with the disability    can make a difference going forward. I am honoured to being a part of this organization and look forward to the future.

Treasurer and councillor

Bruce Richmond, representing NSW/ACTbruce richmond

I am married with two sons. I worked as an Accountant and Sales Representative until retiring.

I have lived in Sydney all of my life.

Subsequent to completing an intensive smooth speech course in 1985, I joined Speak Easy.

I have held many positions, both at a State and National level.


Tushar Kumar, representing Victoria

Aiden Farrell, representing Victoria

Peter Dhu, representing Western Australiapeter_dhu

Peter is an experienced communication skills professional, specialising in public speaking, off the cuff speaking, presentation skills and leadership communication Peter has over 30 years’ experience in the health industry and 5 years as an independent communication skills consultant working both within organisations and as an external consultant to people who wish to improve their public speaking and presentation skills. Peter delivers his knowledge through a range of interactive group workshops and one on one coaching.

Peter’s professional qualifications include Ba Appl Sci in Medical Science, MBA, Grad Dip in Health Administration, Diploma in Professional Coaching and he is licensed to run Dr Susan Jeffers Feel The Fear and Do It Anyway workshops across Australia.

Peter works with all levels of management and leadership to enable them to become better presenters and speakers and more confident communicators. He specialises in working with people who are restricted by fear and nervousness around public speaking.  Peter has worked with Mangers, CEO’s, Emerging Leaders, Politicians and Inspirational Leaders to help them achieve their personal goals in public speaking.

Peter is passionate about training and assisting people to find their voices so that they can confidently and effectively get their message across to those people who need to hear it.  When people have the confidence to speak up at meetings, within forums, as leaders then this helps organisations to be more effective and succeed.

Peters professional memberships include Associate Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, Associate of National Speakers Association of Australia. Peter is a Mentor with AIM and is also often called upon to deliver key note presentations around personal success and overcoming adversity. Peter is a Certified Trainer in “Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway”, by Dr Susan Jeffers. Peter is committed to his own ongoing education and ensuring that he remains at the forefront of his field of public speaking and presentation skills.

Peter is a person who stutters and has struggled all his life to speak and be heard.

Bernard Glennon, representing NSW/ACT

Geoff Johnston, representing South Australiageoff_johnston

I’ve been a member of Speak Easy for over 20 years and have attended most ASEA conferences and served as a national delegate for South Australia during that time as well as National Executive Officer. From 2001-2014 I was the Australian Regional Director of the McGuire Programme (Aust) and continue as an instructor and certified primary coach on that programme. I’m passionate about helping people who stutter of all ages to gain control over their stuttering and achieve their life’s ambitions.

I’m a father of two and “Pop” to five grand-daughters. I live in Strathalbyn, South Australia. I’m involved in Toastmasters and am a foundation member of the Adelaide Hills Kiwanis, a community service organisation. I also play tennis for the Hahndorf Tennis Club and support the Adelaide Crows in the AFL. I’m passionate about helping people who stutter gain control over their speech and achieve their life’s ambitions.

Kevin Nuttall, representing Queensland

Scott Monson, national appointee



Advisory Board

The advisory board provides advice and information to the ASEA Council and represents one vote on the council.

 Dr Janet Beilby, Associate Professor, Curtin University, WA 

Dr Susan Block, Senior Lecturer, La Trobe University, Victoria

Associate Professor Ross Menzies, Clinical Psychologist, Australian Stuttering Research Centre, University of Sydney, NSW

Dr Celeste Merrigan, Clinical Psychologist, Victoria

Associate Professor Ann Packman, Senior Research Officer, Australian Stuttering Research Centre, University of Sydney, NSW